The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Revolver Forum

Old July 23, 2020, 01:16 PM   #1
OhioGuy

Wooden grips for carry

I'm new to wooden grips -- the Kimber revolver I just bought has some nicely textured walnut grips. The question I have is whether wood grips will suffer a lot if they're carried regularly, especially if they're in contact with skin and sweat. Is it inevitable they'll end up stained and discolored? If I end up carrying this regularly, should I swap them out for rubberized grips, or maybe put some sort of grip sleeve over them?
Old July 23, 2020, 01:45 PM   #2
jimku

Quote:
Originally Posted by OhioGuy View Post
I'm new to wooden grips -- the Kimber revolver I just bought has some nicely textured walnut grips. The question I have is whether wood grips will suffer a lot if they're carried regularly, especially if they're in contact with skin and sweat. Is it inevitable they'll end up stained and discolored? If I end up carrying this regularly, should I swap them out for rubberized grips, or maybe put some sort of grip sleeve over them?
If you like the look of your wood grips and want to protect them, just give them a few light coats of wipe-on polyurethane. The stuff is about as durable of a finish as you could possibly use ... it is designed for wood floors. Give them enough coats to seal the wood. Easy peasy, just wipe it on with a soft cotton cloth, let it dry, repeat as often as you want. If you want a really gloss finish, just wet-sand LIGHTLY with 1000-grit wet/dry sandpaper between every other coat.
Old July 23, 2020, 02:57 PM   #3
OhioGuy

Would this make them more slippery, especially with a sweaty hand?
Old July 23, 2020, 03:41 PM   #4
jimku