The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old April 25, 2020, 05:47 AM   #1
JLK

Silver Pigeon vs Citori

I am thinking about a new over under. I have it narrowed down between a Browning Citori or a Beretta Silver Pigeon .
I will be using it for trap. And it will be a 12 gauge.
Opinions please.
Old April 25, 2020, 08:21 AM   #2
NoSecondBest

Having owned both, and they're both good guns, I'd have to go with the Citori. For me it was clearly better balanced and had overall better ergonomics. I just shot better with it.
Old April 25, 2020, 08:27 AM   #3
stuckinthe60s

will they be bonified trap guns?
and when you say trap...do you mean regulation trap or a flinger in a back yard?
NSSA All American, Skeet/Trap Range Owner
Old April 25, 2020, 09:37 AM   #4
JLK

They will be shot at a regulation trap range. From the guns I’ve handled the Silver pigeon seems lighter. Don’t know if that’s a plus or minus .
I’m new to trap shooting. I just retired so it’s going to be a new sport
for me.
Old April 25, 2020, 09:53 AM   #5
NoSecondBest

If you plan on shooting Trap, remember that light weight isn't always a good thing there. You'll notice the recoil more if you shoot much, and there isn't a lot of gun swing in trap like there is in Sporting Clays. Subtle differences, but real. Most Trap shooters prefer a bit heavier gun for extended shooting sessions. Clays shooters like something heavy enough to keep a sustained swing, but not too heavy to prevent a little "liveliness" in the gun. I'd suggest you rephrase the question and direct it to Trap shooters rather than just a general audience. Better yet, visit some trap fields and see what people are using. Most places/shooters love to let you try their gun and they'll talk your ear off explaining what makes a "good" trap gun. Don't rush into anything. They aren't cheap.
Old April 25, 2020, 10:57 AM   #6
JLK