The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old February 17, 2020, 08:08 AM   #1
Grouser1865

870 Historians needed

I have an older Wingmaster and believe it to be all original (but who knows of course relative to the barrel). Assuming it is I am curious about two things.

1. What was Remington envisioning this particular configuration would be used for - Magnum (marked) receiver, 30 inch fixed full choke barrel which is also marked "for 3 inch shells?" Wouldn't be for trap and if just a general purpose magnum gun, why a full choke?

2. I would like to own another barrel with a different choke. Has there ever been a model made that came with a fixed modified choked barrel that was also with a three inch chamber? I would like a three inch chamber with mod choke and am trying to avoid having the current barrel threaded. I am also trying to avoid just buying a current production barrel with RemChokes.

Thanks guys.
Old February 17, 2020, 08:44 AM   #2
jmr40

30" Fixed full choke with 3" chamber was intended for waterfowl hunters. Traditionally 30' barrels were full choke, 28" were modified and 26" were Improved Cylinder before the change to choke tubes. But there are exceptions. Some 28" barrels were full choke.

I don't know how easy it would be to find one but there are probably some fixed choke barrels out there for sale. Lots of guys converted to the newer barrels that are threaded. There are probably some fixed choke barrels sitting in closets unused that could be bought. Might try placing a "want to buy" ad in the classifieds here and on other gun related forums.

Winston Churchill
Old February 17, 2020, 09:48 AM   #3
Grouser1865

Are any of those 28 inch mod barrels chambered for three inch shells? If not, there's no point in looking; I should just thread my barrel or buy a new Remchoke barrel. Right?
Old February 17, 2020, 10:04 AM   #4
ocharry