The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Semi-automatics

Old May 25, 2021, 10:54 PM   #1
TXAZ

.300 BO, what do you think?

Neighbor asked about a 300 BO (rifle) for home defense.
I have no experience with it.

What do you think?

Cave illos in guns et backhoes
Old May 26, 2021, 12:20 AM   #2
HiBC

I can only tell you "from my point of view" Factors matter. I'll start with owning thousands of once fire 5,56 brass and 50 years handloading experience.

Price of ammo is not an issue for me. I can cut and form brass from 5.56

I have parts,tools,and experience with putting together AR-15s. I also have an M-1 Carbine,

I like the M-1 carbine.

I'm not into suppressors. I'm talking 125 gr or so supersonic loads. In my case,I bought a 10 in 300 Blk barrel and built a pistol. FWIW,no brace. Just a buffer tube.

From that perspective,the cartridge splits the difference between a 30 carbine and 7.62x39. Its not going to "impress" anybody. Yawn.

But those cartridges served OK in battle with ball ammo. We have Hornady Varmint Grenades,Nosler Ballistic tips...

Few doubt the effectiveness of a 357 Magnum with 125 gr JHP. A 125 gr 30cal Ballistic tip at 2000 fps + compares pretty well.

Its not exactly the same,but the 10 in AR pistol in 300 BLK is about as light,handy,and effective as an M-1 carbine in my opinion.

Remember,though, my ammo supply is covered.
Old May 26, 2021, 04:47 AM   #3
stagpanther

Within 100 yds it's plenty potent, though I would still watch out for over-penetration if that's a concern and care needs to be taken for the selection of the right ammo.
Old May 26, 2021, 05:58 AM   #4
jmr40

While it would probably work I think there are better options. I can only think of a single reason why I'd choose one over the much more common 223/5.56 round. And that is firing it suppressed. If your plan is to use a suppressor then go for it. Otherwise 223 is the better option.

Winston Churchill