The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 2, 2019, 08:37 PM   #1
Nube

Need opinions on Hornady LNL Press kit etc

OK I have found a Hornady Lock-N-Load Classic Reloading Kit with Sonic Cleaner Combo that I might get. I am looking for opinions on this item...(either good or bad), but I would like the reasons behind you opinions, not just you could do better or you don't need all that, etc.... In case you haven't read my previous thread I am still kinda on the fence about getting into this so bear with me. I know this does not have all that I need but I am just getting started and working up to all the components. I thank you all for the patience and advice in the past and the future!!

Last edited by Nube; March 3, 2019 at 10:14 AM.
Old March 2, 2019, 08:48 PM   #2
ms6852

What do you mean on the fence about getting into this. Buying the Hornady combo or reloading?
Old March 2, 2019, 08:57 PM   #3
Nube

Both More so on the kit

Edited for content
Old March 2, 2019, 09:17 PM   #4
big al hunter

The lock-n-load seems like a solid press. I like the idea of fast change dies, but I won't spend the money to convert my press (RCBS Partner) but if i was just starting it would be a strong contender.

The Sonic cleaner is something I have not tried. But I suppose it would do the job as well as I need it to. I currently wet tumble with soap and water only. I hope someone that uses the Sonic cleaner will chime in on it. The draw back for me was cost of cleaning solution. Not sure how often the solution needs to be changed, so I'm not sure what the cost would be.
Old March 3, 2019, 08:20 AM   #5
Nathan

This is a solid kit. I have the press. I really like the quick change dies. I do most of my work on the LNL AP. It is as good as the green presses I have used, but I haven’t used either very much.