The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old November 16, 2015, 11:28 PM   #1
mjes92

Looking for Shotshell data

I have the following components.
Universal powder
Fed. 209A primers
2-3/4" Winchester AA hulls
1-1/8 oz. Rem. R12H wads

For some reason I am unable to find any 1-1/8 oz. published data with this combination of components. Checked several manuals and Hodgdon on-line.

I found a recipe using Longshot but don't want to buy a powder that I normally don't use. I have a bag of Wads I want to use up.

Does anyone have the recommended powder Charge for this load?
I have an idea of a starting power charge but prefer using published data.
I have never worked up my own load for shotshell before.

Thanks
NRA - Life Member
Old November 17, 2015, 05:50 AM   #2
hartcreek

What else do you load with? Red Dot, Green Dot, 231, Unique?
Old November 17, 2015, 10:25 AM   #3
SonOfGun

I can find no data for the components you list. You may have to use a different hull or a different wad.

Shotgun reloading does not allow much leeway in combination of components.

You need to match all components.

(edit) I did find some data, first one uses PB powder and the second uses Unique the third uses Green Dot.

Last edited by SonOfGun; November 17, 2015 at 10:47 AM.
Old November 17, 2015, 11:59 AM   #4
mjes92

other powders

I formerly used Clays, but I haven't seen a pound of that in almost 2 years.

Looks like I will have to concede to buying a pound of Longshot to try.

Has anyone out there had experience using Longshot for Shotshell loading?
Dirty? Clean burning? Opinions?

Thanks
NRA - Life Member
Old November 17, 2015, 12:36 PM   #5
SonOfGun

Do you have data for Longshot? If not why would you spend money on powder with out knowing if it will work? Try one of the powders already recommended.
Old November 17, 2015, 02:29 PM   #6
T. O'Heir