The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old March 9, 2006, 10:01 AM   #1
almtiba

Hunting with a Pump vs. Semi Auto

Hi,

I'm going to Argentina in May, to hunt ducks and other birds. We estimate to shoot about 300 rounds of 12ga. a day, during 5 days.
It's my first bird (shotgun) hunt.
My friends who have more experience, say that I can't do that with a Pump Action Shotgun, and I must use a semi auto.

Well, I have a Remington 870 Wingmaster MAGNUM, with a 30" ventilated polichoke barrel and a 20" rifled barrel for slugs, and I was very happy thinking I could use it.

Other option is to rent a semi auto (probabilly Benelli or Franchi) from the outfitter.

What do you guys think about it ?

Thanks in advance,

Andre Tiba - Brazil
Old March 9, 2006, 10:14 AM   #2
FirstFreedom

A pump will work great - except perhaps for the cumulative recoil & resulting bruising effect of that many shots with 12 ga. So, is the weather going to be cool enough to comfortably wear a vest with extra padding in the shoulder? If so, I'd just do that and take the pump. If wearing a thin shirt, you might take their advice, and rent or borrow a semi-auto 20 ga, to reduce the recoil. 300 shots per day times 5 days is a lot of fun, but may start to hurt after awhile.
Old March 9, 2006, 10:20 AM   #3
almtiba

Yeah... It will be cold near Patagonia this time of the year. I will surely be wearing a coat and vest, with a padded sholder.
Other concern is the follow up shots that might be a bit slow...

Thanks for your response !

Regards,

Andre Tiba - Brazil
Old March 9, 2006, 10:28 AM   #4
fisherman66