The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Old October 10, 2019, 05:16 AM   #1
jetinteriorguy

1911 feeding issues

Ok, so I'm new to 1911's but finally bought one I couldn't resist. It's a RIA that has two barrels with accompanying springs. One is a 9mm, the other is the 22TCM, which is why this was irresistible to me. It functions fine in 9mm as long as I use the 9mm mags, but not so well with the 38 super mags that are for the 22TCM. But the 22TCM has some problems even with the proper mags. The first problem, when feeding the first round it wants to nose dive and jam, unless I just load eight rounds in the ten round mag and very carefully slide it into battery on the first round. The second issue with the 22TCM, after about 20 rounds the case was stuck in the chamber and the extractor couldn't pull it out. It had to be popped out with a flat screw driver, which didn't take a lot of effort to pop loose. Any suggestions? New extractor? Bend mag lips to make it tighter or looser? Maybe just a good cleaning? Polish feed ramp?
Old October 10, 2019, 07:15 AM   #2
David R

Start with a good cleaning, take the extractor out and run a solvent Q tip all the way through. I would not mess with magazine lips. Clean and lube the whole gun, including chamber and barrels.

First round feeding causing nose dive, put less rounds in the mag. You can load the mag to max and let them sit for weeks. It may help.

If you need to push out an EMPTY case, use a pencil or dowel down the barrel, don't dig out out with a screwdriver by the rim.

David
Old October 10, 2019, 08:14 AM   #3
JERRYS.

try to find some quality magazines. I do not know which ones came with your gun but I'm pretty sure they are not up to the standard of something like a Wilson Combat magazine.
Old October 10, 2019, 09:33 AM   #4
beeenbag