The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old December 4, 2018, 01:12 PM   #1
the possum

AR Pistols in 7.62x39?

I've been mulling over this idea for at least a couple years, but never really delved into researching the options out there.

I always carried an SKS around the farm, since most of the things I tend to shoot at are beyond comfortable range for normal pistols. A carbine or rifle just makes more sense. But it's a pain, because of the laws here in Illinois regarding keeping it cased, etc. I do have a CCW permit, which means I can carry any handgun that's at least "mostly concealed". An AR pistol (or some other PDW sorta gun) might be a realistic way to keep a carbine type gun at the ready in a vehicle without running afoul of the laws.

This is fresh in my mind because I've been noticing some pretty good deals on AR pistols lately. I've seen several in the $300-$400 range. I'd plan to add one of the pistol braces to it, if it didn't already come with one. I'd also mount some kind of holographic sight so I could see through it from a range of different shooting positions, so I don't want an A-frame front sight. I'm looking at barrels in the 9"-12" lengths; 10.5" seems popular.

I like the idea of the 7.62x39 for several reasons. I already have 2 guns so chambered, so I wouldn't have to stock a different caliber. It's cheap (which is mainly why I'm not interested in the .300 Blackout). Doesn't lose as much from a short barrel like a .556 does.

What are the pros and cons of the various types? I see Palmetto State Armory offers their version that accepts AK magazines. I came across this one on Gun Broker, but was wondering if special magazines are required. https://www.gunbroker.com/item/792754394
Old December 4, 2018, 04:12 PM   #2
AK103K

PSA has this on a daily deal. Good til tomorrow.....

https://palmettostatearmory.com/psa-...165450183.html