The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old January 2, 2010, 03:45 PM   #1
defjon

Recommend me a shotgun?

Hi all,

Well I'm not new here. I have a lot of training and experience with rifles and handguns, but I am pretty much a newbie when it comes to shotguns. Shot some trap with my grandpa as a boy, shot for fun with my former mother in laws boyfriend some slugs and buckshot out in the country, etc etc..couldn't tell you what make or model I was using.

I'm on a pretty tight budget, but I am mostly looking for SOLID, end 'o the world type dependablity. Thinking probably a PUMP type shot gun, but...I would be open to other suggestions, single shot, double barrel, etc. Just needs to fit my (small) budget, and the other item which would be very reliable and last the rest of my life.

I don't know if I'll take up trap, there are lots of places to shoot trap around here unlike rifle or pistol ranges so that might be a good way to keep up my shooting.

I don't care about looks of the weapon. It'll probably be used mainly for HD, possible hunting, possible trap..

Is this one any good?
http://www.budsgunshop.com/catalog/p...ducts_id/91401

Certainly good on the budget aspect.
Old January 2, 2010, 03:51 PM   #2
oneounceload

Not for trap, you only need a front bead sight for clay targets, and you'll want a barrel longer than 18.5". That set up is fine for HD, not targets. If you want it to do double duty, then look at the Mossberg 500 or Remngton 870 with two barrels. Used would fit your budget and get you something that is not only American-made, but has tons of parts and after market accessories.
Old January 2, 2010, 04:04 PM   #3
mjsmith1223