The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old July 2, 2009, 08:43 AM   #1
Big G

45acp question

I came across a bunch of TZZ Match brass, should you reduce the load with it, like you would regular military stuff?
Old July 2, 2009, 08:47 AM   #2
goodspeed(TPF)

I've never done that before, nor have I heard of such a thing. Full power loads for me in TZZ brass. I am unaware if they are intentionally weak. Maybe someone much older and smellier than me will chime in with different information.

http://www.thepiratefleet.com/index.shtml
Old July 2, 2009, 08:58 AM   #3
oldcspsarge

TZZ IS Israeli Military Brass....made to match spec = a little more precision.

Great brass.....will take any powder manufacturers approved loads !

Nice find !
Old July 2, 2009, 09:02 AM   #4
margiesex

Nope - me neither

Never backed down for this brass - just like the afore mentioned fellas!

God Bless.

Margiesex

And remember: Hug your God and your guns - 'cause he's coming for them both, and soon.
Old July 2, 2009, 09:06 AM   #5
Big G

I am not wanting to load it hot, it is excellent brass.With military brass you sometimes have decreased case capacity(stronger/thicker), therefore the same load in the less capacity case raises pressures. I am trying to find out if theses cases are made heavy just like the regular military stuff or if it is the same as comercial.
Old July 2, 2009, 09:11 AM   #6
csmsss

.45 ACP has very low nominal pressures as it is, so I can't see any reason to lower the starting loads for this or any other decent brass.
Old July 2, 2009, 09:38 AM   #7
Big G

My only concern is point of impact changes, you change pressure and you change velocity, which can cause point of impact changes. I am not concerned about the cases being able to handle the loads.
Old July 2, 2009, 09:42 AM   #8
Big G