The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old October 18, 2008, 06:43 PM   #1
rwt101

Question about primer safety when loading?

It looks like primers are a good subject right now. Since I am a newbie I am sure this question has been asked before but I will ask again. I just bought a Lee turret press and also ordered the safety prime system for it. On the lee site they state that they have had some reports of primers going off with that system. They suggested to use CCI and I believe winchester primers only. It has me concerned. Any thoughts on the safety of this?
Thanks
Bob T
E. TN
Old October 18, 2008, 07:28 PM   #2
Unclenick
Staff

Wear safety glasses. You should do that anyway. Otherwise, I wouldn't be too concerned. CCI primers have always had slightly harder cups than most others, so they don't go off as easily, but I've never had any issues loading Federals, which are considered by most to be the most sensitive. I remember a friend of mine used to use the old style Lee loaders which had you seat the primers by tapping the case onto them. During a session he'd be sitting there, going tap-tap-tap-BANG! That would happen two or three times for every couple boxes of rounds he loaded. I never saw the appeal, but he seemed pleased enough to be able to make the ammo so cheap.
NRA Benefactor Member and Golden Eagle
Old October 18, 2008, 07:31 PM   #3
QBall45