The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old October 21, 2011, 01:22 PM   #1
kealil

Bullet redesign/ creation

Hey all,
I've been loading for a couple months now and have been daydreaming about my own bullet types and the creation of said bullets.

I want to start developing these special bullets but I don't know the legality of it. What are the rules for creating your own type of bullets? I remember reading about a round called " black rhino" that seemed to get people in trouble.

Any advice? Also, I know I'm being vague but I only have an iota of an idea right now and want to gauge the legality of this before I devote any energy to it.

Thanks ahead of time
Old October 21, 2011, 01:33 PM   #2
rjrivero

The Black Rhino, if I remember is like the Unicorn. Much talked about, some say they saw it, but never really amounted to anything.

The thing about building a better bullet is that it can be a double edged sword. If your bullet design functions well, it causes the black rhino type hysteria. If it doesn't work well, it's another "marketing gimmick."

Without knowing your specifics: Exploding bullets are a no no. Bullets that penetrate body armor seem to cause heartburn. (Although I don't really get that part. Most Deer Hunting rounds turn kevlar into tissue paper anyway!) Fragmenting bullets are okay, as long as they are touted as "safety slugs" and don't penetrate anything.
Old October 21, 2011, 01:37 PM   #3
Sevens

I don't think you have any real issues until you elect to sell your hand-crafted product. At that point, you need a Federal manufacturer's license and it comes with all sorts of glorious fees and taxes.
Old October 21, 2011, 05:05 PM   #4
FrankenMauser

As long as it doesn't qualify as armor-piercing, incendiary, or anything else that is regulated; and you don't sell them; you can make anything you want.

If you hope to sell them...