The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

View Poll Results: Which one would you buy?
Beretta 92 52 37.41%
CZ-75 87 62.59%
Voters: 139. You may not vote on this poll

Old July 12, 2017, 10:14 PM   #1
Model12Win

CZ-75 vs Beretta 92?

Hi all! I am looking for a solid frame 9mm double stack DA/SA service pistol. I have some experience with the Beretta M9 from shooting it in the military. I do like the gun but my experiences have been qualifying with it a few times and that's about it.

I have heard many good things about the CZ-75. Many say it fits the hand nicely and is just a solid gun. I do not have any experience with one though so don't know.

Which should I go with guys? This will be for home defense and fun at the range. Thanks!
Old July 12, 2017, 10:29 PM   #2
Lost River

That is entirely up to you and what YOU perform best with. I have spent time with both. Both are quality guns, but I own only one. A CZ-75.

The Beretta is entirely too big for my tastes, for the amount of rounds it holds, as compared to, say a G19. It is a very easy gun to shoot well though. But the CZ is also very easy to shoot well and I find it conceals much better, and I simply enjoy it more.

What works for me, may not be best for you though.
Old July 12, 2017, 10:31 PM   #3
5whiskey

Hmm... Well CZ for me. A 92 is on my own list one day though. Praying they cycle out to us via CMP (but not holding !y breath)
Old July 12, 2017, 10:41 PM   #4
Model12Win

I like the M9 well enough from handling and shooting them, but I will say now that I think of it they feel quite large in the grip region, as I have heard some say. I wonder if the CZ-75 doesn't feel so fat in that area?
Old July 12, 2017, 11:14 PM   #5
DubC-Hicks

I own both. And would never sell either.