The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old November 28, 2017, 08:01 AM   #1
MRogers

caliber question

Fairly new to blackpowder. Why is it that my Walker Colt, which is a "44", is able to accept a 45Long Colt conversion? I assume this isn't a very intelligent question thus it seemed most appropriate to point out that I am new to the blackpowder world. Maybe a better question is, why is the Walker a "44" if other "44 caliber" revolvers are .429 versus .454?

Thank you

Michael
Old November 28, 2017, 08:28 AM   #2
noelf2

They were called 44s originally probably because of the diameter between lands in the barrel. We measure between grooves now, which will be in the .452 range. Heard other reasons too, but this is the only one that stuck.
Old November 28, 2017, 11:47 AM   #3
Hawg

In the old days barrels were bored to .44 caliber and then rifled so the measurements would be taken from the lands, Nowadays bores are measured from the grooves. In the old days bullets were heeled meaning the outside diameter was the same size as the outside of the case like a .22 bullet is today.
Old November 28, 2017, 02:14 PM   #4
MRogers

That being said.....so youre telling me that it perfectly reasonable and acceptable that a 45LC conversion kit could be fired in a Walker Colt 44?
Old November 28, 2017, 04:34 PM   #5
Bishop Creek

Quote:
That being said.....so youre telling me that it perfectly reasonable and acceptable that a 45LC conversion kit could be fired in a Walker Colt 44?
Yes, a .454 .45 caliber bullet fits the barrel of any modern .44 cap and ball revolver perfectly. I have fired thousands of rounds of .45 cartridges with my conversion cylinders in my .44 cap and ball revolvers.
Old November 28, 2017, 05:50 PM   #6
Hawg