The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old October 7, 2017, 09:24 PM   #1
prontow

Question about 45 Colt black powder loads.

Sorry if this question comes up a lot but I am having trouble finding a good answer.
Just got a Uberti cattleman 45 colt and will be reloading with black powder. I have been shooting cap and ball and flintlock for several years and this will be my first cartridge BP load.
It looks like from what I have seen that about 35-38 grains of FFFg, a greased wad, and a thin card between wad and bullet.
I saw a gentleman use a cork disk between the wad and powder.
So what I am thinking is powder, cork, wad, card, bullet.
Does this sound right?
Looking for advice.
Thanks!!!
George
Old October 7, 2017, 09:33 PM   #2
Hawg

You won't get 38 grains in there with all that. I don't load .45 Colt but I load 44-40 and just use powder and a bullet. I don't see any need for all the other stuff.
Old October 7, 2017, 10:01 PM   #3
Oliver Sudden

Original 45 Colt cartridge was loaded with 2fg and no wads. Lead alloy should be soft and the lube groove be large with the proper type of lube. I use SPG lube with good results. Don't try to compress the powder by seating the bullet, that will make problems.
Old October 7, 2017, 10:14 PM   #4
drobs

Driftwood Johnson has a good thread on loading BP cartridges over at the High Road. Recommend you check it out:

https://www.thehighroad.org/index.ph...e-guns.821193/
Old October 7, 2017, 10:22 PM   #5
Jbar4Ranch