The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 27, 2009, 01:04 AM   #1
KUHIO

Do you trim pistol brass?

I've been loading 9mm and I've been getting inconsistant OAL's. I'm usually getting +/- .002 I believe this is due to varying case lengths. I wasn't too concerned with it when I started building this load, but now I've worked it up a bit. Because of this I'm using a OAL with 'room for error' where small deviations will not cause a danger to me or my firearm. These are just target loads, so accuracy isn't paramount. Is this cause for concern, do I need to start trimming cases or what? Help, I'm a noob
Old January 27, 2009, 01:10 AM   #2
rjrivero

I have never measured my pistol brass, much less trimmed it.
Old January 27, 2009, 01:13 AM   #3
KUHIO

So you're saying I shouldn't worry about it? How do you load to a specific OAL then? very confused
Old January 27, 2009, 01:23 AM   #4
PDshooter

N E V E R .......:barf:
Shoot Shovel Shut-up!
Old January 27, 2009, 01:47 AM   #5
KUHIO

Any one have HELPFUL insight? Just stating that you never trim your brass does not help me.

Can anyone tell me how you load to specific cartridge lengths, with brass of varying lengths, without trimming?

I've randomly measured dozens of my 9mm brass with lengths from .743''-.756''. Though most of them are measuring in the .748''-.751'' range.
Old January 27, 2009, 02:28 AM   #6
Unclenick
Staff

Trimming serves two purposes. First is to prevent a case from getting so long that it jams the case mouth into the throat of your barrel, which can cause very high pressure, especially in a rifle with a ball throat that tapers from the freebore straight into the lead. The second is to level the distance from the casehead so that your crimps apply consistent pressure.