The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 24, 2011, 12:17 PM   #1
jenboy

relatively new to reloading, need help with 22-250

Hello all,
I'm relatively new to reloading and as such only have 2 manuals. Anyway, I want to work up a couple loads for my 22-250. I have one load ready to go using varget and 55gr v-max but wanted to try 55 gr Nosler balistic tip boat tails using h 380. Unfortunely my manuals do not give any data for that combo. I'm using cci large rifle primers. As I'm new I always start at the minimum and work up in .5 increments. As I get close to max I cut that to .2 increments. I also load to the manuals specified OAL as I'm not comfortable experimenting with getting closer to the lands yet. I was hoping somebody could give me the data for the min and max powder charge. Any help and or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
Old September 24, 2011, 01:11 PM   #2
A_Gamehog

Welcome to the forum,

Nosler book #6

H380- 35.5 min 39.5*max 3736 fps 98% filling

* denotes the most accurate load was 39.5 work up to it.

The 55 V-max has the flat base and it's what I use. Varget or IMR 4064 are better and cleaner burning. One thing is your twist rate, that dictates the bullets you can accurately use. The longer V-Max may not shoot in a 1-14 twist. I would say try it anyway. The new Hornady 53 V-max has a .290 BC it also needs a 1-12 twist to shoot. Don't go on weight, go on length. The 50 grain Barnes Varmint Grenade won't shoot in a 1-14 either. It's too long. It's as long as a 69 Sierra Matchking.

Use your manuals to improve your loading technique. E.G. a sticky bolt lift indicates excessive pressure, as does a cratered or flat primer. Seat your loads to the book COL. Then experiment with seating depth to get your most accurate load.
To work up "the load" I use the OCW method by Dan Newberry. Never fails.

http://practicalrifler.6.forumer.com/index.php