The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old November 4, 2014, 11:23 PM   #1
Vittles

Reloading .45 200 gr Plated RN

Hi, hoping to get some help here. I am new to reloading and am trying to find a load for some 200 gr plated lead round nose bullets. I am using titegroup powder and once fired brass with CCI LP primers. I have looked on Hogdon reloading center and did not find any load data for what I want to do. Lyman manual was no help either. From what I have found, I was thinking of starting with 4.7 gr of powder to keep the velocity around 800 fps. What I don't know is how you figure out the overall length of the completed round. What are some reloading manuals I can look at? By the way, I just want to end up with target loads for paper.

thanks!

Vittles

Last edited by Vittles; November 4, 2014 at 11:25 PM. Reason: Forgot information
Old November 5, 2014, 01:06 AM   #2
steve4102

OAL is always firearm and bullet specific, never manual specific. The finished loaded round must fit-feed-fire.

Our moderator here Unclenick has put this illustration together for us.

Once you find #3, keep reducing OAL if necessary until the rounds cycle smoothly through the action.

Old November 5, 2014, 09:03 PM   #3
mmb713