The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old August 26, 2010, 08:50 PM   #1
E&BC

Handloading questions

I am signed up to take a handloading course.

I am completely new to this that is why I am taking the course.

what kind of information would you give to someone just starting out?

What kind of equipment set up would you recommend?
Old August 26, 2010, 08:52 PM   #2
mikejonestkd

There's tons of info in this thread:

http://thefiringline.com/forums/showthread.php?t=230171

Hope this helps
Old August 26, 2010, 08:54 PM   #3
DiscoRacing

Find/read some reloading data manuals... read as much as you can... figure out just what you want from reloading in terms of calibers,,,speed,,and how much money you have to spend...there are lower cost presses that will work as well as the expensive ones...but the higher costs are usually faster loading.
Old August 26, 2010, 09:08 PM   #4
lee n. field

Quote:
what kind of information would you give to someone just starting out?
"Buy the Lyman manual and read it."

Quote:
What kind of equipment set up would you recommend?
"Don't start with a progressive. Start with a single stage press. You need to understand the procedures first, and a progressive has too much going on at once for a beginner to follow."
"As was the man of dust, so also are those who are of the dust, and as is the man of heaven, so also are those who are of heaven. Just as we have borne the image of the man of dust, we shall also bear the image of the man of heaven. "
Old August 26, 2010, 09:27 PM   #5
jhenry

Exactly correct. The Lyman manual is the first thing to get and read cover to cover. After that you may want to shop for a single stage kit that has pretty much every thing you need to start off with. Lee makes a nice one to start with. I still use my Lee single stage press all the time.
Old August 26, 2010, 09:31 PM   #6
E&BC