The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old February 23, 2012, 12:26 PM   #1
MightyAchilles

px4 .40 Shooting low/left at 25 and 30 feet

Any advice? Here are two photos. The first is 50 rounds fired at 25 feet. The second is 50 rounds fired at 30 feet(10 yards) at my local range. They are rounds 300-400 out of the gun.

Old February 23, 2012, 01:19 PM   #2
Hansam

I'm not an expert...

So take this for what it is - another enthusiast's advice but nothing more substantial than that.

It looks to me (just from looking at the targets of course) that you're probably not gripping your pistol properly and/or you're anticipating the shot/recoil.

Typically an "over grip" as in you've got your right hand rotated too far forward so you've got more than just the first section of your trigger finger on the trigger will cause you to shoot low and to the left.

Most people who anticipate the recoil of the shot and "adjust" for it will end up shooting low and to the left as well.

My advice - check your grip and load your gun with a couple of live rounds then a dummy. If your grip is rotated too far forward you'll shoot low and to the left. If you squeeze the trigger on the dummy round and find yourself flinching on the squeeze that can cause it too. Isolate the problem and fix it.
Old February 23, 2012, 01:27 PM   #3
jhenry