The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old June 23, 2009, 06:11 AM   #1
Super-Dave

28" vs 26"

This is a question for those shotgun experts out there.

When should you use a 28" barrel vs a 26" barrel?

George Orwell
Old June 23, 2009, 07:25 AM   #2
oneounceload

For whenever you want a little more weight out front to keep your swing smooth - crossing targets (clay or bird) for example. Personally, I prefer 30-32" barrels for that reason
Old June 23, 2009, 10:09 AM   #3
BigJimP

I'm no expert ...

But shoot longer barrels whenever you want to - and like OneOunce said - the longer barrel gives you a little more weight forward and helps most of us smooth out our swing and follow thru - vs a shorter, lighter gun that tends to be too "whippy" for most of us to shoot moving targets.

Personally for hunting birds, Skeet and Sporting clays I prefer a 30" barrel in a semi-auto or an O/U and a gun that weighs about 8 1/2 lbs overall - but well balanced between my hands. I do have a couple of guns with 28" barrels - but I find them way too short in terms of "feel" these days.

For Trap I go to a 32" or 34" barrels ...and a gun with a gross weight of about 10 lbs - but again balanced between my hands ( just a little forward of the trigger )..
Old June 23, 2009, 10:35 AM   #4
jmr40

Depends on which experts you ask. The guys who spend a lot of time at the clay games prefer the longer barrels. When they go hunting they hit better with the longer barrels because that is what they are used to.

Most of the serious hunters I know who rarely ever shoot at clays, but put a lot of meat on the table prefer the shorter 26" barrels. The key is get used to whatever you have and I doubt if you will be able to tell a significant difference between 26" or 28".