The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old May 17, 2009, 11:22 PM   #1
sam67

Red Dot with 45 acp 230gr lead

Hello,
I'm new to loading and I'm in need of a little help. I'm using Red Dot and loading 230gr lead in 45 acp. My question is; in the loading manual it only gives one load for that bullet- 4.0 gr. There is no max load, but with plated bullets you can go up to 5.0 gr. Has anyone done this with lead bullets, and did it work out? At 4gr there doesn't seem to be quite enough push to completely load the next bullet. Any help would be great. Thanks in advance for your time!

Sam
Old May 18, 2009, 12:13 AM   #2
Dallas Jack

Not trying to be rude but you would recieve more responses in the "Handloading and Reloading" section.
Dallas Jack
Old May 18, 2009, 12:17 AM   #3
JohnKSa
Staff

Moved to Handloading and Reloading.
Old May 18, 2009, 12:57 AM   #4
Gregory Gauvin

Generally speaking, you can load lead up to the same listed charges as FMJ without pressure problems.
Old May 18, 2009, 09:17 AM   #5
sam67

Thanks

Thanks guys, not only do I need help with re loading, I also need help using this forum. Thanks again, I appreciate the help!
Sam
Old May 18, 2009, 09:42 AM   #6
45Marlin carbine

I use RD w/good results all cast slugs I load including .45acp (both revolver and semi) - that seems a little light for a semi-auto. try bumping up the charge loading 4 rounds at a time until you hit paydirt.
Old May 18, 2009, 12:02 PM   #7
Shoney

sam67

WELCOME TO TFL!

I agree that 4.0gr RD is a lot weak. My data show start loads at 4.5 gr with max loads at 5.1gr.; using a minimum COL of 1.27".

Good Shooting!
I pledge allegiance to the Flag - - -, and to the Republic for which it stands….Our Forefathers were brilliant for giving us a Republic, not a democracy! Do you know the difference??? and WHY?http://www.wallbuilders.com/LIBissue...les.asp?id=111
Old May 18, 2009, 04:11 PM   #8
Death from Afar