The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old December 4, 2018, 07:44 PM   #1
John E.B. Rawton

JB Weld release agent

I eventually want to set the spacers that I’ve shaped for my uberti revolvers that have short cylinder pins with jb weld.
Does anyone have experience in doing it this way and what do you use as a release agent so as not to get the pin stuck in the barrel?
Old December 4, 2018, 08:04 PM   #2
Troy800

I have no experience in what you are doing but I have used JB Weld to bed rifles. I used Johnsons paste wax. You can also look at retailers that have rifle bedding supplies and buy a release agent.
Old December 4, 2018, 08:04 PM   #3
gwpercle

My release agent when using JB Weld to custom fit bullet seating stems to a bullet nose is a light grease . Vaseline aka Petroleum Jelly , has kept the bullet from adhering to the epoxy in the seating stem.
I tried paste wax.....that doesn't work as well as petroleum jelly .
Gary
Old December 4, 2018, 08:32 PM   #4
LineStretcher

Quote:
Originally Posted by gwpercle View Post
My release agent when using JB Weld to custom fit bullet seating stems to a bullet nose is a light grease . Vaseline aka Petroleum Jelly , has kept the bullet from adhering to the epoxy in the seating stem.
I tried paste wax.....that doesn't work as well as petroleum jelly .
Gary
I Agree, Vaseline is best, there's something in JB Weld that causes it to adhere to most any surface except oily surfaces. I've tried shoe polish and bullet wax either of which works fine with Acra Glass and putty style epoxies but not JB Weld.
Old December 4, 2018, 08:48 PM   #5
4V50 Gary
Staff

I'd rather make a longer pin on a lathe. Can you ask a student at some college to make it as a lathe project?
Old December 4, 2018, 08:56 PM   #6
John E.B. Rawton