The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old February 20, 2008, 05:37 PM   #1
xdgap

very new-lots of questions

I'm just starting out reloading. I've done quite a bit of shooting though, and have the "ABC's of Reloading" that I'm reading for the second time. My only purpose is to reload my own ammo, I'm not a competition shooter or a big hunter so it's mainly just for "plain" target shooting at the local outdoor range. I'm not too worried about brass because I can get just about all I'll ever want. The guns I have and want to start reloading are:
M1 Garand, Nov 1943 issue original parts.
AR10B collector/target barrel, .308
CZ 527 carbine, 7.62x9mm
XD: .45GAP, 40S&W, 9mm
What I don't have is the re-loading equipment. The maximum I'll be loading is about 300 rnds. I have a number of Brown/Sharpe machinist tools but need a scale. After reading the beginning reloading post I thought I'd ask here. I'm not sure whether a turret press or single stage press and I'm definitely confused on the powder brands. (I know my M1 can't handle the modern powder for the 30-06). I'm finding out the array and types of reloading equipment is HUGE and some people I talked with say start small and work your way up. If I do that I figure I'll have an extra boat anchor. Any advice would be appreciated. (forgot to mention, I'm retired so I don't need a "production sytem").
Old February 20, 2008, 05:43 PM   #2
dvndog

I would advise a single stage press for you to gain the knowledge of the basics, also pick yourself up a reloading manual, Like lymans edition. You can pick up alot of info online for oddball loads and powder min loads and max loads. On the older guns I would advise going with the min loads. After you get the hang of reloading then move to the progressive. And always pay attention to whats been charged and what hasn't
Old February 20, 2008, 05:56 PM   #3
Darren007