The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: General

Old June 19, 2019, 06:14 PM   #1
stagpanther

Introducing Stagpanther's "Short Target" tracking method

OK--let me get the disclaimer business out of the way right from the start: this technique maybe (probably) exists already some place, especially since I'm a complete novice to precision scope use, but I haven't seen mention of it anywhere and arrived at it through my own (often wayward) imagination. So bare with me if I'm merely repeating something that is already known--if not, try it out and let me know what you think.

Obviously, this is useful mostly with higher-power scopes that use precision retIcles similar to the tremor, Horus, Mil XT etc that have extensive hold over and side hold "hash" marks.

I just scored a Leupold 5HD 7 x 35 ffp scope with the nice 60 MOA impact reticle and I put it atop my savage 110 LRH in 338 Lapua Magnum. I've found a pretty good load but so far haven't been able to get out to longer range shooting. Before I do that though, I wanted to test the tracking ability of the scope. I first used Litz's tall target test, and then went online and found something called the box test, which I like because it also tests windage along with elevation tracking.

Mt results, though, were pretty poor using both techniques. In both cases, my groups tended to open up a bit the further I dialed up from zero. Furthermore, it was a bit tedious getting multiple verifications of distance to the target, and then making sure it was level. Lastly, going home and doing the math, I noticed my error margins were often in the neighborhood of 10% or more.

Was something wrong with the scope? If so, what? Or was it just me (which is what I usually default to)?