The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Bolt, Lever, and Pump Action

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 7, 2019, 02:00 PM   #1
'88Scrat
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 11, 2011
Location: Kansas
Posts: 423
MAS-36 Bolt Won't Close

Picked up a beautiful looking MAS-36 yesterday in 7.5 French, bore looks pristine!

However when I went to run a few of my dummy rounds through it this morning I noticed that the bolt will not close all the way with a round in the chamber. It's about 1/4 inch from being all the way home.

I read on some other forums that this can be due to an issue with the firing pin so I removed it and got the same result. Next I got my dummy 7.62x51 rounds and tried those thinking maybe it had been converted and someone failed to mark the receiver. Bolt would close but extractor would not engage and the round just kinda falls out so I don't think thats it.

I also should mention that when I bought it the bolt seemed kinda hard to close even without a round in it, kinda binds up midway through the throw but is smooth on the ends (if you follow me there). I chalked this up to cosmoline buildup at first, it was covered pretty liberally, but now I wonder if the two issues are related.

Thoughts?

Thanks!
__________________
BOOM
'88Scrat is offline  
Old April 7, 2019, 07:00 PM   #2
tangolima
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 28, 2013
Posts: 2,197
It is a bolt gun. Were you able to turn down the bolt handle at all?

-TL

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk
tangolima is offline  
Old April 7, 2019, 07:40 PM   #3
'88Scrat
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 11, 2011
Location: Kansas
Posts: 423
Yes, it goes down until there is about 1/4" to go but then won't go down any further.
__________________
BOOM
'88Scrat is offline  
Old April 7, 2019, 10:01 PM   #4
tangolima
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 28, 2013
Posts: 2,197
The rifle may just have a short chamber, or the dummy round hasn't been properly sized. Did you use a real dummy round or a snap cap? You will handload for your rifle, will you not? You can size down the brass just for this one. I have a Swiss k31 just like that. I have crank down the sizing die or it won't chamber.

-TL

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk
tangolima is offline  
Old April 8, 2019, 01:15 AM   #5
'88Scrat
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 11, 2011
Location: Kansas
Posts: 423
Real dummy round, even took it outside to the range and tried some live rounds. Same problem
__________________
BOOM
'88Scrat is offline  
Old April 8, 2019, 02:10 AM   #6
tangolima
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 28, 2013
Posts: 2,197
If you plan to use loaded ammunition, you will need to let a smith to check its headspace. He may need to ream the chamber to pass go-gauge if need be. If you plan to handload, you choose to size down the brass to fit. That's what I would do as I only shoot my own handloads.

You can also ask a gunsmith to do a chamber cast if you suspect the rifle has been rebarreled to something else.

-TL

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk
tangolima is offline  
Old April 8, 2019, 10:12 AM   #7
RC20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 10, 2008
Location: Alaska
Posts: 6,123
This raises huge alarms.

1/4 inch is massive. I would get to a gun smith and or get a chamber cast.

Unless it had a new barrel and got throwing into disposal without the reaming. the head space should be within reason and military guns tend to generous (not a MAS-36 owner so don't know much about them)

Maybe a dumb question but you have the 7.5 x 54 cartridge not the x 57? (more like 6 or 7 for a quarter inch but....)

Does the barrel look like OEM or is the a way to tell on the MAS-36?

Approach very cautiously. The mid stroke hang up is another concern.
__________________
Science and Facts are True whether you believe it or not
RC20 is offline  
Old April 8, 2019, 11:41 AM   #8
'88Scrat
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 11, 2011
Location: Kansas
Posts: 423
Ammo is 7.5x54 French. Gonna take it to my gunsmith, this one is beyond me.
__________________
BOOM
'88Scrat is offline  
Old April 8, 2019, 12:51 PM   #9
T. O'Heir
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 13, 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 11,304
"...bolt seemed kinda hard to close even without a round..." Different thing than failing to close loaded. The 1/4" suggests the chamber is obstructed vs being too short or bad head space.
"...extractor would not engage..." May be the difference in rim thicknesses/diameter or the extractor being damaged or dirty.
"...binds up midway..." Suggests a burr some where. A slight bend some place will do that.
The 7.62x51 case is a couple thou smaller in all dimensions.
__________________
Spelling and grammar count!
T. O'Heir is offline  
Old April 8, 2019, 01:45 PM   #10
SIGSHR
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 13, 2005
Posts: 4,296
Could it have been rechambered to 308 Win. ?
SIGSHR is offline  
Old April 8, 2019, 05:03 PM   #11
Erno86
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 22, 2012
Location: Marriottsville, Maryland
Posts: 1,565
If it's not rechambered for 308. You might have a dirty chamber that has a carbon ring . Try using a chamber brush attached to a section of a cleaning rod that is locked in a hand drill, along with some carbon remover.

You can sometimes tell if it has a dirty chamber, if you spread a thin layer of good oil on the shell casing and see if it chambers.

Steel cased ammo has a lesser chance of causing that kind of a problem.
__________________
That rifle hanging on the wall of the working class flat or labourer's cottage is the symbol of democracy. It is our job to see that it stays there."

--- George Orwell
Erno86 is offline  
Old April 19, 2019, 06:03 PM   #12
'88Scrat
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 11, 2011
Location: Kansas
Posts: 423
Had my gunsmith look at it and he said the extractor was not engaging correctly. Fixed it and fired a few times with no issue.

Honestly I can't tell a difference but clearly it fires just fine.
__________________
BOOM
'88Scrat is offline  
Old April 20, 2019, 05:12 PM   #13
RC20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 10, 2008
Location: Alaska
Posts: 6,123
Sweet!
__________________
Science and Facts are True whether you believe it or not
RC20 is offline  
Old June 3, 2019, 06:42 PM   #14
'88Scrat
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 11, 2011
Location: Kansas
Posts: 423
Sorry to resuscitate a necro thread but does anyone know how to remove the extractor from a MAS 36?

After cycling the gun a few trips now I think I can confidently say it is an extractor issue. There are clear wear marks along about a 2" section of the extractor. Bolt is hard to close as it grinds along.
__________________
BOOM
'88Scrat is offline  
Old June 4, 2019, 04:23 PM   #15
DaleA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 12, 2002
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 4,374
Necro thread? Hardly. We've got 7 year old threads coming back and not getting closed. Two MONTHS is nothing. Plus there are lurkers (like me) wondering how things turn out and it's nice to have them all in the same thread.
Good luck.
DaleA is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2018 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.06577 seconds with 8 queries