The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Revolver Forum

Old March 2, 2011, 06:38 PM   #1
goonie76

gp100 vs s&w 686

im new to revolvers and have be browsing the revolver forum quite a bit getting various opinions on these two models, one of which will be my first full size revolver. with price not being a factor in the decision, which of these two revolvers would be a better purchase regarding longevity, ease of maintenance, quality and, i hope it never comes to it, resale value?
thanks for the input
Old March 2, 2011, 06:44 PM   #2
mikejonestkd

Here's a bit of reading material:

http://thefiringline.com/forums/showthread.php?t=185376

Personally, I own both and the smith has a better trigger, but otherwise both are excellent 357 revolvers.
Old March 2, 2011, 06:57 PM   #3
dgludwig

Both are good revolvers and have their individual advantages and disadvantages. Like mikejonesgkd opined, imo, the Smith&Wesson has the better trigger. Also, the Smith will probably have a better resale value over time.
What is your planned use (i.e., a self-defense carry weapon, a home defense gun, a range/target gun, a hunting gun, a camping/plinking gun or an everything in-between gun?) for the revolver? If you plan on carrying it, the Smith is larger and heavier. On the other hand, you can get the "plus" version of the model 686 and get a seven round capacity, nothing to sneeze at if your intended purpose is for self-defense. Once you decide what you want the gun for, the decision of which one to buy becomes a little more rational.
Old March 2, 2011, 07:02 PM   #4
goonie76

usage

it will be a plinking/range toy as i carry a colt defender for ccw and keep an hk usp 45 in the night stand

Last edited by goonie76; March 2, 2011 at 07:32 PM.
Old March 2, 2011, 07:17 PM   #5
SwampYankee
Registration in progress

Consider a used Security/Speed/Service Six.
Old March 2, 2011, 07:34 PM   #6
bossman