The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Gear and Accessories

Old December 25, 2016, 01:40 AM   #1
Surp

Crossbow

I have been looking at the Bear bruzer for $400 and was about to pull the trigger then saw I could get the Torrix for $100 more.
Now the question is if it's worth it As I have no experience with these are any crossbow.

I know the Bruzer is a little smaller and around 1/2 pound lighter (these are heavy bows)and from what I have heard it better balanced.

The Torrix shots 20FPS faster with the same low 125lb draw weight has replaceable AR style frontier and comes with a better scope which isn't a big deal to me as I will eventually be replacing it with Barnett 1.5-5 x 32 for the Illuminated retical.

This will be my first crossbow and I will be using it for hunting and maybe even fishing. Also if you think I could get a better reverse draw for the money let me know where to look.
Old December 25, 2016, 07:52 AM   #2
shootbrownelk

I'll follow this post, I'm looking at starting to hunt earlier in the fall in the mountains for elk when they're rutting and the weather is nice. I have arthritis in both shoulders and my neck, and can't draw my compound without pain. A crossbow with a cocking device may be my answer.

There should be some experienced crossbow guys on the site who will respond, hopefully. I know nothing about crossbows.
Old December 25, 2016, 09:30 AM   #3
NoSecondBest

Go here and look at the crossbow forum. You'll learn everything you'll ever want to know about crossbows and which ones are the best pics for the buck. My money isn't on Bear being the first choice.
http://www.archerytalk.com/vb/index.php
Old December 25, 2016, 09:40 AM   #4
shootbrownelk

NSB, Thanks for the link. SBE
Old December 25, 2016, 10:57 PM   #5
Surp