The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Revolver Forum

Closed Thread

Old January 19, 2014, 09:37 PM   #1
groverdill

Empty chamber for safety - good idea or not?

Since I'm still quite new to the world of guns, I have a question/comment about a thread I was reading over in the tactics and training section. There's a thread about concealed carrying in a condition 3 status (full mag, no round in chamber). Would carrying a revolver with no round in the.......umm, is there a term for the chamber that's next in line to fire??? Active chamber? Chamber #1? Danger hole of doom? Well, you folks probably know what I mean. Essentially you'd have to pull the trigger twice to fire. Would that be considered condition 3 for revolvers? And is there any good reason to do that? Thanks.

Mike
Old January 19, 2014, 10:02 PM   #2
hAkron

I can see no benefit to carrying a modern DA revolver in this manner.
Old January 19, 2014, 10:07 PM   #3
glockcompact

I personally would not have an empty chamber in my revolver. Keep in mind if the hammer is lowered then the chamber that is lined up with the barrel is not the next round to be fired as the cylinder will rotate to the next chamber in a double action revolver.
Old January 19, 2014, 10:10 PM   #4
larryh1108

If it's a recently made revolver with the incorporated drop safeties, my question would be why would you do it? What purpose would it serve?
Old January 19, 2014, 10:10 PM   #5
shep854

The empty chamber under the hammer is good practice for Colt Peacemakers; with those guns a sharp blow to the hammer could drive the firing pin forward with enough force to fire a cartridge. It's also practiced with Colt clones, and is required for Cowboy Action Shooting competition.

With modern revolvers that have rebounding hammers and frame mounted firing pins, it's unnecessary. You can safely load all the chambers.
Old January 19, 2014, 10:16 PM   #6
Againstthewind

Wyatt Earp