The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old November 30, 2010, 11:28 PM   #1
napp

Here comes another newby

I've been lurking for a few days; but didn't register until tonight.

I'm not a new guy to shooting...my first gun was a rimfire .22cal when I was six years old. However, I am new to the BP world. I have spent the last few days trying to learn some of the jargon. I hope I did my homework well; because I just completed my first BP purchase a few minutes ago.

It wasn't easy to limit myself to "just one"; but I ordered the 1858 Remington New Army w/case hardened frame and checkered grips from Cabela. I'm sure everyone here is familiar with it; but just in case there is another newby reading this post, here is the link. http://www.cabelas.com/catalog/produ...out/basket.jsp

I also ordered what I think is enough accessories to get my feet wet in the BP pond. Cabela says I should get the gun within a week; so I'll find out then if I've forgotten anything.

I've enjoyed the forum while I was lurking; and I'm sure I will enjoy it more as I continue to learn new things.

If I should ask some dumb questions, be gentle with me.

napp
Old November 30, 2010, 11:38 PM   #2
the rifleer

Welcome to the forums. You'll love your new gun. When you shoot it, you have to get in the mind set that you are content with being patient, shooting slowly, and making every shot count.

As long as you do that, you will have tons of fun with it.
Old November 30, 2010, 11:49 PM   #3
napp

Thanks Rifleer. I couldn't help but chuckle when I saw your signature and compared it to the last line of my original post. I can only hope that is your normal signature; and not something you created especially to commemorate my joining the forum.
Old November 30, 2010, 11:54 PM   #4
egor20

Welcome napp, I will also be a newbie to the BP world if santa/OH thinks I'm a good boy after Christmas, so welcome to the newbie club