The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old March 24, 2011, 11:13 PM   #1
JiminTexas

falling Block, Rolling Block, Trap Door, Tip Up

I don't have any experience with BPCR guns, but I have been shooting and reloading rifles and handguns for 50 years now. I have shot blackpowder (a flintlock Hawken) but not BPCR. Some smokeless actions are generaly more accurate than others, i.e. bolt actions are generaly more accurate than lever actions and pump actions. Now don't go balistic on me, I know that there are some very accurate rifles out there of all types of actions, but as a general rule what I said is true. Now among BPCR rifles what are the inherrently more acurate actions. Are falling block actions more acurate than trap door actions? How about rolling blocks or tip-up (top break) actions?
Old March 24, 2011, 11:44 PM   #2
RwBeV

Boy thats a tough one. I think if you ask 50 different folks you will get 50 different answers. I have been shooting BPCR for about 35 years and I still don't know what is the most accurate single shot action. The falling blocks are definitely the strongest followed by the tip-up style actions depending on who made them. I have seen some very fine rolling blocks and swinging blocks (Stevens 44) that may not be the strongest action in the world but they shoot extremely well. Mostly what you see at BPCR silhouette matches are the falling blocks and the rollers. I own some of both they all shoot very well. I haven't seen to many trap doors or tip-up's at silhouette shoots. Its really a matter of getting your hands on a good quality rifle and working up a load to shoot the style of shooting you want to do. Maybe go out to some of the matches and ask lots of questions you will find most shooters will be happy to show you what they shoot.

Bob
Old March 25, 2011, 07:16 AM   #3
oilcan72

Fallin block