The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 25, 2010, 11:37 PM   #1
bassfishindoc

Questions about Crimping

Hello all, I am relatively new to handloading and have a few questions about crimping. I am reloading .45 colt rounds for a new Ruger Blackhawk, using RCBS carbide dies and the seating die is able to do a rolled crimp. In looking through the reloading manuals for various loads I have noticed that some loads say a crimp is necessary, while others do not mention a crimp at all. I just have a few questions about crimping:
1. Do all loads need to be crimped, or just the ones that the manuals specifically say need to be crimped?
2. What are the benefits of crimping?
3. Are there ever any times when crimping should not be performed?
4. Should I crimp with the seating die or go ahead and get a die specifically for crimping?
5. Difference between a rolled crimp and tapered crimp?
6. As a beginner, one of the tough things is figuring out what I need to know so if there is somethings you all think are beneficial for me to know that I haven't asked please tell me.
Thank you everyone in advance, this is a great forum!
Old January 26, 2010, 01:50 AM   #2
Doodlebugger45

There have been a few threads about crimping just today and hundreds over the past couple years. They can probably explain it better than I can, but I'll take a stab at some of your questions anyway.

1. Not all loads need to be crimped, but for your 45 Colt, yes, you need some kind of roll crimp. Whether it's a heavy roll crimp or a light one depends on the load level. The terms "heavy" or "light" are subjective, therein lies part of the problem. Generally though, revolvers and lever action rifles need at least some level of roll crimping.