The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 11, 2023, 11:50 AM   #1
MikeSRuth

Squibs, Silhouette powder and rain

Good day folks, I have about 5 years reloading experience now and been fairly successful at it. Most of that has been .223 rifle and a little bit of .45 ACP.

Recently I have been much more active with pistol using Ramshot Silhouette and Autocomp Powders for 9MM, 38spc, 357Mag and 45.ACP. ..45 Colt is on my list next.

The reason I'm posting is a serious issue that just cropped up. I had both a .38spc and a .45 ACP squib yesterday and frankly I feel damn lucky because I personally made a huge mistake. I dropped the hammer on the .38 and nothing happen, I did not feel anything. and there was a good dimple on the round. The BIG mistake was I did not unload the case and just rolled it over to the next thinking I just had a FTF. Dropped the hammer and felt a puff. I knew then of course I had a squib. Thank god I did. At that point I unloaded the rounds and realize that I just had a double squib. The first round was just barely sticking out the crown.

OK, so Set that gun aside and later in the session brought out the .45 ACP and first shot an incredibly light recoil and the case was ejected. I stopped and inspected the case and saw what I want to say looked like wet powder.
Bullet was just past the chamber.

So my thought and question is it has been raining on and off here in So Cal for the past month and cold. My powder is only opened to load the hoper and then sealed back up. The hopper is only open long enough for me to run through adjusting the drop charge. This weather is the first time I have reloaded in it. Otherwise it's always been dry and fairly warm out.
I'm wondering if the Silhouette powder has taken on moisture.
The powder seems to look OK, pours OK doesn't stick on anything.

Would appreciate any thoughts on this or experiences similar.