The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Competition Shooting

Old January 3, 2016, 03:58 AM   #1
Kbowers6938

New member and this is my first question (not the same guy that's in the military)

Hey folks, my names Kevin, I'm a 22 year old trucker from Texas. I have tons of questions, and hopefully yall don't fry tired of me too quick. But on to my first questions.

1: I would like to get into competition shooting possibly, but where do I start?

2: My nephew will be 10 in February, and I asked him if he'd be interested in learning to SHOOT (not just plinking but really learn to shoot as in competitively). I heard on a radio show I listen to (gun talk), the producer said if he could start all over again that he'd start at an early age and start training for competition, because apparently there's scholarships for it, and I'm assuming prize money would help out too, and my sister is a single mother, and my parents have dealt with 3 kids, so I don't think they want to fund another in 8 years. So I thought it would be a great idea to give him something he could do for the rest of his life, and possibly help him basically pay his own way through college. But once again, where do I start?

I don't want to start him off and possibly teach him a bad habit for competition right off the bat. And also how can I keep him focused on it (reacting targets of some sort to keep his attention and keep it fun). He's not the most mature 9 year old I've ever met, but I'm hoping teaching him to shoot will help that as well as teach him responsibility. But how do I do all this correctly?

Thank you too those that get all the way through this and thanks in advance for the responses. I know I wrote a book and its probably not always well received when a new guy shows up and starts writing books for posts but just wanted to give everybody as much info as possible about where I'm coming from and what I'm shooting for. Thanks again