The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old November 12, 2008, 11:42 PM   #1
jy951

Pistol Gripped Shotgun Question

My friend is considering purchasing a pistol gripped-no shoulder stock shotgun for home defense. I've talked to a gun dealer and he stated they were considered a handgun in the state I live in (IN). Does this seem correct? Also, if considered a handgun, I believe it would be illegal according to the feds to take an otherwise full stock shotgun and put the pistol grip-no shoulder stock on it since it's converting a longun to a handgun which is not allowed. Can anyone clarify this thing? My friend is thinking of just purchasing a cheap mossburg 500, hacking the barrel to 18.5 and putting a pistol grip on it and i'm not sure this is legal. Thanks.
Old November 12, 2008, 11:46 PM   #2
hogdogs
Staff In Memoriam

I never heard of that since it has a second handle (forestock)... but I am no expert and many places take it upon themselves to tromp on our liberty with silly descriptions. Wasington DC calls many semi auto guns a machine gun
Fill us in when you have a definitive answer.
Brent
Old November 13, 2008, 12:22 AM   #3
scorpion_tyr

From my understanding when I tried to purchase one out of state is that it's considered a long gun but sold as a handgun if that makes any sense. That's just what the kid behind the counter said. I'm glad he wouldn't do it though. Did a lot of research and the pistol grips w/o shoulder stock don't seem to be very accurate or easy to handle. Never fired one so I can't say for sure.
Old November 13, 2008, 12:25 PM   #4
New_Pollution1086

tell your buddy to save time and trouble and buy the full stock shotgun.

Pistol grip only is just not fun to shoot, or particularly accurate with out a lot of practice.

T
- T. Boone Pickens
Old November 13, 2008, 12:41 PM   #5
T. O'Heir

A shotgun with no stock is absolutely the most useless thing on Earth.