The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

View Poll Results: Accuracy, which is best conical bullets or lead ball in Cap and ball revolvers
conical or hollow base 8 22.86%
Ball 27 77.14%
Voters: 35. You may not vote on this poll

Old August 28, 2009, 08:17 PM   #1
Ozzieman

Conical bullets or lead ball in Cap and ball revolvers

Conical bullets or lead ball in Cap and ball revolvers
I have been shooting cap and ball revolvers for over 40 years and have never tried conical or hollow base bullets in any of my guns. Just wondered if any of you out there have a preference for accuracy,,,, please take cost out of the equation.
Thanks.
Old August 28, 2009, 09:31 PM   #2
Hawg

I've shot conicals and round balls out of my .36. Can't really tell any difference in accuracy but the conicals have more punch with the same powder charge. Also more recoil.
Old August 29, 2009, 01:03 AM   #3
Smokin_Gun

I've had good accuracy with conicals in a Dragoon ...but I prefer Round Ball which to me are more accurate and with less powder... if desired.
Admin:http://blackpowdersmoke.com/oldcoots/index.php
Old August 29, 2009, 07:05 AM   #4
madcratebuilder

I have two boxes of buffalo bore conicals I need to try out. I have tried a few dozen a friend gave me, cast from a Colt style mold. Had a major pain getting to seat straight, so accuracy sucked(or my shooting) Now that I have PPP loader that well not be a problem.
Hawg, do you think the heavier recoil is due to the increase in bullet weight or does the bullet seal to the barrel have anything to do with it.
Old August 29, 2009, 07:39 AM   #5
drdirk

I had bad luck with conicals in my Ruger old Army. The accuracy was horrible and the loading harder. I now use ball only.
Old August 29, 2009, 08:09 AM   #6
fineredmist