The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old June 26, 2018, 11:34 PM   #1
jmstr

New to the holy black- what do I need?

Hello All,

I am new to the black powder world, but have acquired some fun stuff to start with.

Yet, other than loading supplies [powder, wadding, patches, ball, primers], I don't know much.

For my revolvers, I am not overly worried [Pietta 1858 NMA and Ruger OA].

However, I just picked up a TC Patriot .45 pistol, and will take home a Browning Mountain Rifle in .50 soon.

I have shot in .451, .457 and .490 lead round ball. I have my Pietta, my ROA and BMR covered.

I need to get .440/1 [or .445?] for the Patriot Pistol.

I have FFFG powder. I need FFG powder. I have both #10 and #11 percussion caps. [and a can of FFFFg Powder for some reason- but no flintlock, so doubt that will get used]. I understand load sizes, and the advantage of using corn meal/CoW as filler to balance powder charges, as well as bore butter to 'cap' revolver cylinders to avoid chain firing.

I have some powder flasks, and a percussion cap 'snail' loader/capper.

What I don't know about is everything else that is recommended.

Is there a simple list of useful/required parts/tools I should have?

Or the name of a really good introduction into the tools of loading blackpowder- both muzzleloaders and cap revolvers.

Thank you
Old June 27, 2018, 10:35 AM   #2
rodwhaincamo

By wadding do you mean felt wads? If so you don’t need lube over the ball. Over ball lube typical gets blown away within a few shots and just gets all over everything including your hand. Some people swear by it though.

Do you have a set of gunsmith’s screwdrivers?

I’m not familiar with the Patriot or the rifle. If it has a wedge you’ll want a brass punch and mallet (brass/plastic/wood). And the pistol should be much like the rifle and need an undersized ball due to the patch. It would take a .440” or .445” ball I’d guess.