The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 5, 2020, 02:02 AM   #1
Dead-Nuts-Zero

Win 231 in 44 mag from Lee molds?

Anyone shooting Win 231 using Lee Cast 310 gr (somewhat like Keith style bullet) in 44 mag?

I've looked for days for a source of Win 231 in 44 mag, I found very little printed data. THEN I came upon this thread & it seems to be my best source at this point. I know it's an old thread but maybe someone can assist me.

I'm new at casting 44 mag & a rookie mistake was purchasing Lee molds (because only brand I could find at the time) assuming there would be lots of load data. However, I'm unsure how to seat the Lee cast bullets as I can't find the same bullet profile in my assorted manuals.

Looking for help determining seat depth to avoid max pressures in the following bullets which I powder coated.

Lee MOLD DC TL430-240SWC SKU 90299

Lee MOLD DC C 430-310-RF SKU 90858
Old September 5, 2020, 02:47 AM   #2
Aguila Blanca
Staff

This post was originally added to the end of a two-year old discussion about a different bullet and bullet weight. I split it off because it's an unrelated question.
Jeepaholic
Old September 5, 2020, 11:36 AM   #3
DukeConnor

I checked my lynan manual. it has the lee bullet listed but no data for 231.
the only 44 mag data is for a 210 gr bullet with a starting load of 9.3 grains.
Old September 5, 2020, 12:05 PM   #4
FrankenMauser

It's not a good powder choice for the bullet and cartridge combination.
Low case fill may result in position sensitivity.

But if you want to play with fire...

CAUTION: The following post includes loading data not covered by currently published sources of tested data for this cartridge. USE AT YOUR OWN RISK. Neither the writer, The Firing Line, nor the staff of TFL assumes any liability for any damage or injury resulting from the use of this information.
Lee 310 WFN
1.610" COAL
8.7 gr W231
29,000 psi