The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old October 17, 2009, 10:40 PM   #1
kx592

HD training

Alot of guys on here who are specifically interested in HD such as my self. I am fairly new to firearms but got very comfortable with my mossy 590a1 and 870 on the skeet field and target range. My question is what do you guys do as training for home invasion. Say a guy breaks in in the middle of the night.How do you train for the situation and such. Look forward to responses
Old October 18, 2009, 02:41 AM   #2
JerseyDrez

Most local ranges have training classes for those types of situations.

All it takes is a quick phone call and, depending on which employee you talk to, you should get the answer 20mins later...as 99.9% of gun shop employees love talking/shooting the breeze/asking questions about firearms

"I don't know what situation you'd be in where you'd be facing a bad guy and he'd have the time to notice your laser shaking and evaluate you as having low confidence. "
Old October 18, 2009, 08:15 AM   #3
Lee Lapin

Probably the most widely available class is the NRA's Personal Protection In The Home course- see http://www.nrainstructors.org/CourseCatalog.aspx . There's also a "Find A Course" tool on that page that will let you see if anyone near you is teaching it.

IF not, there's a DVD of the classroom part at http://materials.nrahq.org/go/produc...tid=ES%2026840 .

That course is the best starting point I know of...

lpl

Attitude and skill will get you through times of no gear, better than gear will get you through times of no attitude and no skill.
Old October 18, 2009, 10:34 AM   #4
Glenn E. Meyer

If the OP tells us where he or she is located, we can probably recommend some good trainers. Lee gives an excellent generic recommendation.