The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old July 10, 2008, 07:30 PM   #1
johnwilliamson062

Cleaning my gun, uggh

In the past I have primarily shot my p22 about once every 2-3 months a couple hundred rounds per outing. I always fully break it down wipe off every surface and then re oil it with remington whatever oil(whatever walmart carries in an orange bottle).

I just started shooting trap and expect to shoot multiple times per week. I expect to shoot 75 or 100 shots through my Remington 11-87. It is semi-Auto of course. How much do I need to clean it? Is a bore snake through it, with a real cleaning say once a month enough? I am certainly not an obsessive gun cleaner, but I will do what is needed to keep the gun running well.
Old July 10, 2008, 07:54 PM   #2
cxg231

Now, this is just my opinion, but I suspect that you could get away with a full cleaning every 500 shells. Some people shoot that much in a weekend. YMMV
Old July 10, 2008, 10:41 PM   #3
RoscoeC

I guess I'm weird. I really enjoy cleaning my guns. I like disassembling them, I like the smell of the chemicals, I like putting them back together and knowing that they are cleaned and lubricated and fully ready for whatever I need them for.

When I shoot 'em, I clean 'em. Is it necessary? Almost certainly not. Certainly not in the case of the Beretta shotguns, or the Glock handguns, but I do it because I really enjoy it.

There is something comforting in taking them apart, cleaning them and admiring the engineering and craftsmanship that went into them.

I have had a couple of 11-87's, and I think they need cleaning about every 500 rounds.
NRA Life Member
Old July 10, 2008, 10:59 PM   #4
johnwilliamson062

Quote:
I guess I'm weird. I really enjoy cleaning my guns.
Not weird at all many share your view.