The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old December 22, 2002, 09:00 PM   #1
sjones

skeet ortrap?

I am a newbie at this so forgive a stupid question. In skeet they are mostly all crosing shots and trap is mostly going away from you. It is that right? I went to the sheet range today for the 1st time and only shot 7 out of 25. I got mostly the runs from the low hose facing outward on a going away shot. I even hate to admit that. Is trap any easier untill you get the hang of it?On the second round I only hit 9. Thats pretty pathectic(spelling) isn't it?But bow them dand things really come flying out of there,they are fast,fast and faster. I guess I just need a whole lot of prastice. sh
Old December 22, 2002, 10:20 PM   #2
HSMITH

Keep your chin up bud. WATCH the guys that just crush them and make it look effortless, THEY are the ones to take tips from as well. Stance, setup and swing is key, watch the good shooters to find out what works. DO NOT take advise from the 15-20 bird average guys, there is a reason they shoot those scores. Skeet once you get the hang of it is really pretty easy. Sounds to me like you were not leading the targets, that will KILL your scores. You could also get a video and watch that.

Trap is much harder to get really good at IMO, but on the trap field you could likely hit a few more targets. Mediocre trap is really easy, but to shoot well is lots harder. It takes more talent and practice to shoot 23 on the trap field than it does on the skeet field.
Old December 22, 2002, 11:15 PM   #3
PJR

You understand which game is which. It's been said that skeet is a game that is easy to shoot but hard to learn and trap is a game that's easy to learn but hard to shoot. I shoot both games and sporting clays but started out shooting trap and nothing else.