The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Revolver Forum

Old October 28, 2017, 01:04 PM   #1
Bachá

First revolver... 686+ 3" or 686 4" or...

So, so looking to get my first revolver. It would be mostly a range gun and I guess always loaded for home defense if necesary. I would like to carry it but not sure how practical it is... there is a 627 PC 2.6" in the store that I guess would be more suitable for carry. I am new to guns...

So... help me choose :-)

- 686+ 3" (7 rounds)
- 686 4" (6 rounds)
- 627 PC 2.6" (8 rounds)

The GAP between the cilynder and the frame in the PC model makes it look like less durable than the 686s tight fitting.... something to worry about or is it just my untrained eye?
Old October 28, 2017, 01:27 PM   #2
Onward Allusion

If it is mostly going to be for the range, I'd compromise and get the 3". While 4" will get you a little more oomph from 357, it's a bit large for carry. Besides, can't go wrong with 1 more round.

I am on the other side. My primary focus is carry, so I got the 2 5/8" 627. I rather have 8 rounds. It is a solidly built gun and should last.
Old October 28, 2017, 01:39 PM   #3
Bachá

Quote:
Originally Posted by Onward Allusion View Post
If it is mostly going to be for the range, I'd compromise and get the 3". While 4" will get you a little more oomph from 357, it's a bit large for carry. Besides, can't go wrong with 1 more round.

I am on the other side. My primary focus is carry, so I got the 2 5/8" 627. I rather have 8 rounds. It is a solidly built gun and should last.
Thanks... if I can carry all the better, I just have limited experience carrying...

Tell me... did you change the grips? They feel a little too small. I didnt shot the gun, just hold it in the store. What method of carrying do you use?
Old October 28, 2017, 02:09 PM   #4
UncleEd

The shorty 627 does have the bulkier cylinder which may prove
a hindrance in carry.....for some at least.