The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > Law and Civil Rights

Old January 18, 2012, 04:57 PM   #1
Sealed

Criminal Record Sealed - Can i get a FOID card?

In 1994-1995 i have 16 arrests for disorderly conduct that were all tossed out at court. 1 arrest/conviction for misdemeanor possession of marijuana and 1 arrest/conviction for Felony UUW. The law had recently changed so when i was stopped/searched with my grandfathers hand gun it was a felony in Chicago. Thats the only criminal history i have. I was basically an idiot for the first 2 years after i graduated high school but i straightened up after that.

Fast forward to now and my girlfriend is into competitive shooting and its something i want to participate in also. I want to get a FOID card in Illinois so i contacted my attorney about getting my record removed. She said she could get it sealed. I had to leave for a work trip so i havent spoken to her since last week.

I decided to post about it. Will i be able to get a FOID card if my record is sealed?

Thanks for any help or advice.
Old January 18, 2012, 05:01 PM   #2
kraigwy

You already have an attorney working on it, why not ask her?
Distinguished Rifle Badge 1071
Old January 18, 2012, 05:06 PM   #3
Sealed

Im stuck in NY for the next 2 months so i thought i would see if anyone had first hand experience with it while i sit here in my hotel at night.

I know if a record is expunged then its totally clear but sealed records are still accessible by law enforcement. So basically if i cant get a FOID card after sealing my record then there isnt any point in going thru with it.