The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old July 21, 2002, 09:21 PM   #1
westvirginia

Swaged or Cast - newbie question

I'm not green to reloading, but I'm not a pro by any stretch of the imagination. I've been rolling my own for about 2.5 years now, and I mostly use jacketed bullets (230gr .45's, 170gr .30-30). I've loaded some hard-cast .44 mag stuff, but I've seen advertisements for swaged bullets as well. What's the difference? In what situations would one use either for a "better" result. I know a bunch of stuff is subjective, is this just one of those things?

Jack
Old July 21, 2002, 11:17 PM   #2
capbuster

Swaged bullets are generally a softer lead alloy since they are formed under pressure in a swaging die. I have found that they are excellent performers when used for mild to moderate target reloads for my revolvers.
Old July 22, 2002, 07:07 AM   #3
westvirginia

So I need to use the hard-cast for faster hunting loads then?
Old July 22, 2002, 07:57 AM   #4
Catbird

Definitely!

After 25 years of reloading, I've pretty much gotten away from using lead bullets altogether, but when I do, it's hardcast.

I have some of these hardcast lead rounds for both .44 magnum and .45 Colt, but these are relatively mild (1,000 fps or less) loads. I used to get a tremendous amount of leading from swaged lead bullets over 950 fps or so.

The only time I'd even consider swaged bullets, is for .38 special SWCHPs in order to possibly get a little expansion from a snubnosed revolver.

Bottom line: If you're going to use lead, use the hardcast variety; "Laser Cast" aka: "Oregon Trail" are good.

ONE NATION UNDER GOD
Old July 22, 2002, 10:05 AM   #5
westvirginia

Thanks, guys. I always appreciate the info I get on this board.

Jack
Old July 22, 2002, 11:31 AM   #6
C.R.Sam

Quality of the lube makes a tremendous difference in leading.

Sam
Old July 22, 2002, 08:35 PM   #7
WESHOOT2