The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old March 26, 2008, 08:21 PM   #1
happyhuntr

Old Army bullets?

hello all,
i am fairly new to the firing line and BP revolver shooting.

i am looking for a CONICAL lead bullet to shoot in my ruger old army.

i cannot find them anywhere.

i have read about the lee mold for the old army ruger, but i really don't want to start casting as i will only be hunting with this pistol.

do you know where i can get these conical .454 dia. bullets?

do you have a lee mold and willing to sell me some?

thanks

happyhuntr
Old March 26, 2008, 11:22 PM   #2
arcticap

Here's some leads:

Dixiegunworks.com product - BT1201

http://www.dixiegunworks.com/product...oducts_id=3631

Click on "products" for pure soft lead bullet offerings:

http://www.cowboybullets.com/

Contact for sizing info.:

http://cgi.ebay.com/Black-Powder-45-...QQcmdZViewItem

http://stores.ebay.com/Cheap-Shot_W0...dZ2QQpZ3QQtZkm
Old March 28, 2008, 05:31 AM   #3
dmb3006

Old Army Bullets

Take a look at the POWDER INC. site,for lubed bullets
Old March 29, 2008, 01:37 PM   #4
Tom2

I have some I got at a gunshow so I don't know who made them, but they resemble the Dixie bullets. They have a slight taper towards the rear for loading and grease grooves.
Old March 29, 2008, 06:07 PM   #5
okiefarmer

I have a batch greased up somewhere, and would, at some point in time make some for ya. The LEE is a .456 for the ROA on the front two driving bands, but the base band is about .452 or thereabouts to allow it to seat just to the second band to let your plunger rod puch it straight down. Pretty hard to get conicals to drive straight unless you get them partially started into the cylinder, and the LEE reduced band is just for that.
Old April 1, 2008, 02:38 AM   #6
azwizard

ROA Conicals

happyhuntr: