The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Semi-automatics

Old October 24, 2020, 04:17 PM   #1
The Rattler

Help with Disassembly of 10/22

I just bought a brand new Ruger 10/22 carbine. I shot it once and would now like to clean it by disassembling it. An Allen Screwdriver is needed to loosen the Takedown screw.

I didn't own any Allen screwdrivers, so I posted an inquiry as to what size Allen screwdriver I should buy. I've never used an Allen screwdriver before, know nothing about them, have none on hand.

One reply to my post was that it was just a standard size Allen screwdriver. Well, I don't know what that means. I did an internet search for one and found there are many sizes of Allen screwdrivers, none of them referred to as "standard."

Another reply to my post stated that it was a 5/16 size. That was consistent with an older youTube video on the 10/22. Accordingly, I ordered a 5/16 size screwdriver. To my surprise, the 5/16 size is too way too large for this gun!

Both replies were well-meaning, but I still need a correct screwdriver to take down my gun. An old youTube video states that he prefers to use a flat head screwdriver to a hex screwdriver. But that just doesn't seem right to me. If its designed for an Allen wrench, shouldn't that be what is used?

Can anyone tell me the size of Allen screwdriver I need? Or, can a flathead be safely used without risking damage? Should I just buy a kit with many sizes of Allen wrenches?
Old October 24, 2020, 04:33 PM   #2
berettaprofessor

For goodness sake; just go buy one of the "multi-wrench" allen sets that come with about 8 or 10 sizes....they're not that expensive. If you take that down to clean it you're also going to need punches for the various pins btw.
Old October 24, 2020, 07:15 PM   #3
10-96

Rattler,