The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > General Discussion Forum

Old February 20, 2013, 06:07 AM   #1
CO_GunShooter

Gun ownership and the legalization of marijuana

Hello,

I've been shooting and collecting guns for about two years now, and I have a serious question. My state just legalized marijuana, but I'm curious if marijuana use and gun ownership can go hand in hand, if we treat weed like alcohol, i.e. don't shoot under the influence and what not. Thoughts?
Old February 20, 2013, 07:29 AM   #2
Frank Ettin
Staff

Welcome to TFL, and it's a good thing you asked the question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CO_GunShooter
...My state just legalized marijuana, but I'm curious if marijuana use and gun ownership can go hand in hand,...
They absolute do not, if for no other reason than that under federal law a user of marijuana is still an unlawful user of a controlled substance, no matter what state law is. Therefore, a user of marijuana commits a federal felony by possessing a gun.

This was discussed at length here.

Here's the deal with marijuana:
  1. With regard to buying a gun from a dealer or possessing a gun or ammunition, state law is irrelevant.

2. Under federal law (the Controlled Substances Act, 21 USC 801, et seq.), marijuana is a Schedule I controlled substance which may not, therefore, be lawfully prescribed or used. Therefore, any user of marijuana, even if legal under state law, is, under federal law, an unlawful user of a controlled substance.

3. Under federal law, a person who is an unlawful user of a controlled substance is prohibited from possessing a gun or ammunition (18 USC 922(g)(3)). Therefore, any one who is a user of marijuana, even if legal under state law, is a prohibit person and commits a federal felony by possessing a gun or ammunition.