The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > Law and Civil Rights

Closed Thread

Old July 3, 2013, 10:44 AM   #1
stormy36

NICS Delay-- Recent Move Between States?

Greetings.

Last night I purchased my first firearm (a long gun), and received a "delayed" on my NICS check. I do not know of anything that would cause me to come up "denied", but I do have a few things that may result in a flag.

I am a college student from Minnesota who attends school in Illinois (Chicago, at that). I allowed my Minnesota DL to expire in 2009, and then got an Illinois state ID in 2011. This May, I renewed my Minnesota DL (which invalidated my IL ID).

Each year from 2010 to 2013 I have lived 3-5 months of the year in Minnesota, and the rest of the year in Illinois. I have bank/credit/utility accounts with both Minneapolis and Chicago addresses, and receive mail regularly at both. Since renewing my Minnesota DL, I have not entered Illinois. My Minnesota DL is legal, and I did not falsify any information to get it. The folks at the DMV were aware that I was switching from in IL ID, and clipped the corner of it.

I am thinking that this is why I was delayed? In Minnesota, nothing is required for long gun purchase other than NICS, but in Illinois, a FOID is required. Chicago also requires a separate permit to bring firearms into the city limits.

I am currently a legal Minnesota resident, and do not intend on bringing the firearm with my to Illinois during the school year.

I also have two trespassing arrests (IL, 2011). In one case the charges were dropped. In the other, I was given "court supervision"-- which is not a conviction on my record, as I satisfied the orders of the court supervision.

Does anyone have any advice or thoughts on whether I am looking at a long delay followed by a proceed, or whether I should attempt to contact someone to clear up any residency questions that they may have?