The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old April 28, 2015, 05:45 AM   #1
David spargenator

getting chl soon. advice on de-escalating?

so my concealed handgun license should be coming in the mail in about 3 weeks, I've learned that its pretty much illegal to defend yourself. along with having to live with shooting someone (probably someone with a disability who doesn't know any better) if you ever had to use your gun. anyway, how would you guys de escalate situations? what are peoples psychological tics when they get angry? also, whats some advice in general on the subject? I'm new to the concealed carry world. thanks.
Old April 28, 2015, 06:12 AM   #2
dannyb

From reading your post I have only one piece of advice. Get training. Go to a recognized source in your and get both written and practical training.
Old April 28, 2015, 07:32 AM   #3
Doyle

Quote:
I've learned that its pretty much illegal to defend yourself.
+1 on the training - especially as to how the law applies in your state.
Old April 28, 2015, 07:41 AM   #4
OldMarksman
Staff

Yes, training.

Might I also suggest that you occupy yourself with this for a while. It will take a while.

While the synopses generally seem to focus on legality, the book will give you a lot of insight on how to recognize a threat timely, and avoid it.
Old April 28, 2015, 08:10 AM   #5
pax

The book OldMarksman recommended is excellent. I would also recommend -- highly! -- the work of Rory Miller, especially his ConCom manual about conscious communication to manage human conflict.

You may also enjoy, and perhaps need, more information about when you can or cannot use deadly force in self-defense. For that, there is a freebie: Marty Hayes' booklet, What Every Gun Owner Needs to Know About Deadly Force Law.

Finally, I will add my voice to that of the others. Professional training would be an excellent investment. Don't put it off!

pax
Old April 28, 2015, 10:11 AM   #6